Browse Items (8102 total)

Changing_Scene_10_27_1957_075.jpg
Today...the home of Edward G. Feekin stands at 148 W. Washington Ave., a much newer place than that shown at the same location in 1885. At right is the west side of the comparatively new Reorganized Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints.,

Changing_Scene_11_10_1957_077.jpg
Today...the board sidewalks have disappeared, along with the original building that houses St. Francis Academy. The corner lot at Fifth Avenue and Seventh St. is a side yard for St. Francis High School, right. At left can be seen a corner of the…

Changing_Scene_11_17_1957_079.jpg
Today...the scene has changed completely. Within the last three years, huge dirt hauling machines and bulldozers have changed the face of the area. And builders have developed he site at Franklin and Bennett Avenues into a full scale suburban…

Changing_Scene_11_24_1957_081.jpg
Today...on the banks of the Missouri River, about a mile upstream from the original pumping station is this modern purification and treatment plant. It is here that the water is pumped from the river and made ready for distribution through the…

Changing_Scene_12_1_1957_083.jpg
Today...viewed from the newly paved county road, which has replaced the north and main entrance to the park, the site--like most of the park area--has become a residential development.

Changing_Scene_12_08_1957_085.jpg
Today...while there have been only minor changes on the exterior of the church, a sizable building program has added a new pastor's residence and educational unit, extreme right. The church's interior also has been remodeled and redecorated.,

Changing_Scene_12_15_1957_087.jpg
Today...the scene looking west on First Avenue, from Main Street, shows many changes. The "horsepower" is now confined to automobiles and trucks. Hotel Chieftain has replaced the old Grand Hotel, which burned more than 39 years ago. Some buildings…

Changing_Scene_1957_12_23_1957_089.jpg
Today...the old City Auditorium has lost all its glamor. While the balcony seats are still in place, the main floor is cluttered and crowded with post office equipment. The building at North Main St. and Washington Ave. has been used as the…

Changing_Scene_1957_12_29_1957_091.jpg
Today...in the same block on Harrison Street bricks have stood up under many years of storms and heavy traffic. The route has become a main thoroughfare to a growing section of the city. Along the way, too, the appearance of the street has changed…

Changing_Scene_1958_1_26_1958_002.jpg
Today...the present Courthouse, built in 1885, stands on the same ground at Fifth Ave. and Pearl St. It has undergone extensive changes in its 73-year history. The county jail, a separate building on the site, often has been condemned by grand…

Changing_Scene_1958_2_02_1958_008.jpg
Today...the Fourth Street buildings have been changed to rubble and hauled away, exposing the backs of other business houses across the alley. In a matter of days the contractor's equipment will be in the pits preparing the way for new construction.…

Changing_Scene_1958_2_09_1958_006.jpg
Today...the progress of 55 years is seen at a glance. The new home of the First Federal Savings and Loan Assn. occupies the corner. Beyond that the present Council Bluffs Savings Bank and the State Savings Bank continue the trim view provided by…

Changing_Scene_1958_2_23_1958_004.jpg
Today...the building is the garage and storeroom for the Council Bluffs district of the Iowa Power and Light Co. Within the last half century, the front of the building has been faced with concrete, windows modernized, and many other changes made.

Changing_Scene_1958_3_02_1958_010.jpg
Today...the southwest corner of the intersection is the site of the Council Bluffs Free Public Library. It was built in 1904 on the location of the old Pusey home. The cornerstone laying ceremony was combined with the centennial observance of the…

Changing_Scene_1958_3_16_1958_012.jpg
Today...a new Bloomer School stands on the site and it stretches much farther west along Willow Avenue than the old building. The playground was extended to take in property formerly occupied by homes. The Eighteenth Amendment has been repealed,…

Changing_Scene_1958_4_01_1958_014.jpg
Today...the site is occupied by St. Bernard's Hospital. using the Geise residence as a starting point, the hospital has grown steadily since it was founded in 1887. The center section and old main entrance of the hospital consist of the old Geise…

Changing_Scene_1958_4_13_1958_016.jpg
Today...the same view shows numerous detail changes in both properties--even in the house numbers. Mr. and Mrs. Harry Lambert occupy the corner home now listed as 254 Fletcher Ave. Mrs. M. Kucharo's home at right carries the number 250.

Changing_Scene_1958_4_20_1958_017.jpg
Today...a covered tank replaces the open pool and the home at left is a private residence. A reservoir keeper is no longer needed. Glen Avenue shows up at right center and the old school building has been removed. Visible now is the site known as…

Changing_Scene_1958_4_27_1958_020.jpg
Today...there is a trimmer, cleaner look in contrast to the 53-year-old photo. A new building houses the Council Bluffs Savings Bank, and at right is the new State Savings Bank. Other new buildings behind them were rebuilt after the Grand Hotel…

Changing_Scene_1958_5_04_1958_022.jpg
Today...the scene has changed considerably. The Hinky Dinky supermarket now occupies the site where the Platner home stood 70 years ago. Before the store took possession, the corner was occupied by the Woodward Candy Factory. At center right is…
Output Formats

atom, csv, dc-rdf, dcmes-xml, json, omeka-xml, rss2